Fajardo, Perez, And Standhardinger Leads 2019 PBA Governors Cup Best Player Award Race

June Mar Fajardo, rookie CJ Perez and Batang Pier’s workhorse Christian Standhardinger lead the race of the 2019 PBA Governors’ Cup Best Player award.

Though those three players mentioned already out for the championship contention for this year’s third conference yet their names stood out as no local players from the Barangay Ginebra San Miguel and Meralco Bolts made the cut.

San Miguel Beermen “Kraken” currently owns the number one spot in the statistical points where he collected 38.8. Fajardo averaged 19.3 points, 14.0 rebounds and 1.2 blocks in the season-ending tourney.

The Beermen were able to reach the first round of the playoffs where they got eliminated by their sister-team, the Gin Kings which also ended their grand slam campaign.

Columbian Dyip’s CJ Perez took the number two spot having 37.2 statistical points where he made 23.2 points and 2.5 steals per outing.

He led his squad to finish at 10th place at this conference.

In case he failed to win the said best personal award, landing the 2019 Rookie of the Year award is much brighter for him.

After Standhardinger got dealt in NorthPort the Fil-German wasted no time and immediately showcased what his real form is provided that he gets the playing time he needs.

The Gilas Pilipinas mainstay is third in the race with his 35.1 SPs.

Standhardinger led his squad to get deeper in the playoffs as they reached the semi-finals round but was stopped in Game 4 by Barangay Ginebra.

Statistical points are 40% when determining the awardee of the Best Player of the Conference trophy. The 60% is now in the hands of the press and media votes (30%), players’ votes (25%) and the vote from the Commissioner’s Office (5%).

Usually, the BPOC award was given during the Game 4 of the PBA Finals.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *